Breaking News

Suzette Mayr Wins the 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Suzette Mayr wins the 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize for her novel, The Sleeping Car Porter at an invite only Gala at the Four Seasons Hotel in Toronto. Upon winning the award, a tearful Ms. Mayr said that she is now “Done with my imposter syndrome as a writer.” She gave thanks to the Jury and her publisher, Coach House Books.  She took home $100,000, donated by Scotiabank. $10,000 went to each of the four finalists; namely, Kim Fu for her short story collection, Lesser-Known Monsters of the 21st Century, published by Coach House Books; Tsering Yangzom Lama for her novel, We Measure the Earth With Our Bodies, published by McClelland & Stewart; Rawi Hage for his short story collection, Stray Dogs, published by Knopf Canada; Tsering Yangzom Lama for her novel, We Measure the Earth With Our Bodies, published by McClelland & Stewart and Noor Naga for her novel, If an Egyptian Cannot Speak English, published by Graywolf Press.

2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Gala

The announcement was made at a glamorous, invitation-only black-tie dinner and live broadcast at the Four Seasons Hotel Toronto where nearly 300 members of the publishing, media, and arts communities were in attendance. It was hosted by poet, artist and performer Rupi Kaur and award-winning actor Sarah Gadon.  The Giller Prize is dubbed ‘The Golden Globes of the Canadian literary scene’, a handful of the nation’s greatest literary talents and high-profile socialites mingled and discussed literature over exquisite cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. Notable guests in attendance included Margaret Eleanor Atwood, Catherine Hernandez, author; Andre Alexis, giller prize winner 2005; Denzal Sinclair, singer; and Measha Brueggergosman-Lee, opera singer.

2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Hosts, Rupi Kaur & Sarah Gadon.
2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Hosts, Rupi Kaur & Sarah Gadon
2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Winner, Suzette Mayr
2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Winner Suzette Mayr
Andre Alexis left
Andre Alexis (left)
Ali Hassan
Ali Hassan
Catherine Hernandez
Catherine Hernandez
2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalists
2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalists

The 29 annual Giller Prize Gala was broadcast live commercial-free on CBC, CBC Radio One, and streamed live on

2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Jury Members

The  winner of the 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize were selected by a five-member jury panel consisting of  American authors Katie Kitamura and Scott Spencer and Canadian authors Kaie Kellough, Casey Plett (Jury Chair), and Waubgeshig Rice.

“Suzette Mayr’s magnificent and powerful work of fiction inspired this year’s jury to select her as the 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize winner and cements her reputation as a world-class writer. Heartiest congratulations to Suzette on her win tonight!”  Elana Rabinovitch, Executive Director, Scotiabank Giller Prize

Congratulations to Suzette Mayr and to all of the finalists, both longlisted and shortlisted, of the 29th Annual Scotiabank Giller Prize!

Scott Spencer
Scott Spencer
W Rice Jury Member
W Rice Jury Member

30th Annual Giller Prize 2023

The Giller Prize 2022 was a glamorous event in support of Canadian Fiction and books.  Check back here for the 30th Annual Giller Prize 2023.

About the Scotiabank Giller Prize

The Scotiabank Giller Prize, founded in 1994, highlights the very best in Canadian fiction year after year. The Prize awards $100,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English, and $10,000 to each of the finalists. The award is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch, who passed away suddenly in August 2017.

© 2022 Article, Photos and layout TorontoArtsandEvents.  All Rights Reserved.  Editors please contact us for use.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.