Breaking News

2023 Polaris Music Prize

2023 Polaris Music Prize winner is Debby Friday for her album: Good Luck. “I’m in shock,”  she said upon accepting the prize. This Prize is presented to the best Canadian Music album of the year based on artistic merit without regard to label affiliation, sales history or to genre. It is determined by a grand jury of eleven Canadian music professionals (writers, editors, broadcasters, DJs and personalities).

Prize Winner:

Debby Friday won $50,000 courtesy of Slaight Music and a global music promotion distribution package for one release (single or album) worth up to $3,025. The nine Short List nominees won $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music and Play MPE donated each of the Short List artists with a distribution package worth $1,000 each.

Pierre Kwenders announced the Polaris Music Prize 2023 at a stunning Gala at the renovated Massey Hall in Toronto, Ontario on September 19. The Gala featured eye popping performances from the Short List nominees.
This prize is supported by FACTOR, the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and Ontario Creates.

2023 Polaris Music Prize - Gayance
2023 Polaris Music Prize - Sadies

The 2023 Polaris Music Prize Short List is:

Alvvays – Blue Rev
Aysanabee – Watin
Begonia – Powder Blue
Daniel Caesar – Never Enough
Feist – Multitudes
Debby Friday – Good Luck
Gayance – Masquerade
Dan Mangan – Being Somewhere
The Sadies – Colder Streams
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – I’m Good, HBU?

About The Polaris Music Prize:

This music award is given based on merit not based on sales. An eleven person jury of music journalists and broadcasters was chosen from the larger, nationwide pool of nearly 200 Polaris jurors. This year also marked the third year of the Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize, which celebrates albums released before the Polaris got its start a decade ago, with shortlists selected by a jury and winners voted on by the public.

The past winners are:

Pierre Kwenders (2022), Cadence Weapon (2021), Backxwash (2020), Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

For more information click: Polaris Music Prize.
SEO: 2023 Polaris Music Prize
Social Media:
Keys words: #PolarisMusicPrize #music #prize #masseyhall #toronto #toartsandevents

© 2023 TorontoArtsandEvents All Rights Reserved. Many thanks to Aaron Brophy for an invitation to cover the Polaris Music Prize.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.